2019 Awards Evening

On Saturday 8th February 2020 we all met at The Oak in Baginton to celebrate another safe and successful year of diving for everyone. Trophies were awarded to those who have been recognised for their special efforts towards the club, as well as celebrating those who have improved their diving skills and advanced their qualifications.

Diving certificates

Congratulations to everyone that gained a new diving qualification this year

Ocean diver: Ross Marlow, Grace Bridgewater, Josh Sims

Sports diver: Russell Starr, Eliza Cook, Helena Heath

Dive leader: Rodger Hope

Assistant instructor: Russell Star


Wettest diver: Completing a total of 58 dives during 2019, diving officer Helen Hay won the award for wettest diver!

Most promising: After going on many trips this year, joining us on a dive trip to Gozo and even taking himself off on a family holiday to do some diving. Ross Marlow won this year’s most promising diver award!

Dolphin award: the dolphin award is presented to someone who has contributed/assisted in many areas to the club. Russell Starr won this award for his generosity to the club, from donating and fitting the new carpet in our lecture room, to working with our chairman Andy to help with the equipment by filling tanks and getting them tested. Thank you Russell!

Club person of the year: For his outstanding help in two main areas of the club, Ross Marlow wont this award this year. Firstly, for spending many hours with the website, updating it and introducing the website booking system complete with a payments facility. As well as coming down to the club on a regular basis to meet with the new member and for his time spent on building the new storage racks over Christmas, which has made a huge difference to the tidiness at the club. Thank you Ross!

Photography Awards

British waters: Andy Hay

Foreign waters: Andy Hay

Above water: Caroline Hay

Thank you to everyone who attended and everyone who submitted their votes.